> Home > Events > USTA Tennis On Campus Section Championships > Middle States Championship

Middle States Championship

2016 Middle State Champions - Penn State
The Penn State took home the title at the 2016 USTA Tennis On Campus  Middle States Championship.  This is the 7th time in 12 years.  


USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship
The USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship is the premier event for collegiate club tennis and intramural tennis teams across Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware.  The event started out as a small tournament hosted in the spring of 2004, where 8 teams participated.  The tournament's success led the USTA Middle States section to make it their Championship in the fall of the same year, having 10 teams from 10 schools come to the event.  Since that time, the tournament has hosted a number of colleges throughout the last 5 years.  USTA Middle States is one of the few USTA sections to have their Championship in the fall, which allows a greater number teams to attend given weather and indoor court restraints. USTA Middle States gives 4 automatic bids to the USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship.  3 bids are awarded to the first, second, and third place teams at the USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship, and the remaining bid is given to the top finisher in the Middle States Tennis On Campus League.  In addition, the top 4 finishers at the USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship also received a stipend to attend the USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship.

For more information, visit the USTA Middle States Section website or contact Mary Wurtz at 610-935-5000 ext. 225
2016-2017 USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship
Date: Venue: Contact:
October 22-23, 2016 Mercer County Park Tennis Center
West Windsor, NJ
Mary Wurtz at (610) 935-5000 x 225
2015-2016 USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship Recap
Thirty teams from 17 schools participated in the 2016 Middle States Championship. 

Penn State captured the title by defeating the University of Pittsburgh.  Both schools will be joined by the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Delaware in advancing to the 2016 National Championship in Cary, North Carolina in April.
2015-2016 USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Championship Field 

Carnegie Mellon
Penn State
Slippery Rock
St Joe's

USTA Tennis On Campus Middle States Past Champions
2015 - Pennsylvania State University 
2014 - University of Pittsburgh
2013 - Villanova University
2012 - Pennsylvania State University
2011 - Pennsylvania State University 
2010 - University of Pennsylvania 
2009 - Pennsylvania State University 
2008 - Pennsylvania State University
2007 - Pennsylvania State University
2006 - Pennsylvania State University
2005 - Villanova University
2004 - University of Pennsylvania
USTA Middle States Logo