> Home > Events > USTA Tennis On Campus Section Championships > Texas Championship

Texas Championship

Texas A&M defeated rival University of Texas at the 2017 USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Championship.


USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Championship
The USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Championship is a fun and competitive event for collegiate club and intramural tennis teams from across the state of Texas.  The first event took place in 2002 with only 6 teams from 3 schools and, now hosts 76 teams from 28 unique schools!  The Championship, which uses the exciting, dynamic, and co-ed World TeamTennis format, is the culmination of the Texas Tennis On Campus Series  which begins in the fall with 8 one-day Regional events.  The top finishers at the USTA Campus Championship - Texas are granted automatic bids to the USTA National Campus Championship and receive a stipend from the USTA Texas Section to attend the National Championship.  In addition, the USTA Texas Section also gives a stipend to the team receiving the USTA Texas Tennis On Campus Club of the Year Award to attend the USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship.

For more information, visit the USTA Texas Section website or contact Megan Longbotham-Young at (512) 443-1334 x218.
2016-2017 USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Championship
Date: Venue: Contact:
February 17-19, 2017 UT Whitaker
Austin Tennis Center
Austin, TX
Megan Longbotham-Young (512) 443-1334 x218.
2016-2017 USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Championship Recap
More than 450 students from 58 teams fought for the title.  This year's event featured some great hospitality from the USTA Texas Section, including a Player Party and karaoke contest. In a rematch of last year's final, Texas A&M got revenge over University of Texas 25-20 to take the title. 
Nationals is set for April 13-15 in Orlando, FL at the USTA National Campus.
2016-2017 USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Championship Field
Baylor University
Houston Community College
Lamar University
Lone Star College - Kingwood
Prairie View A&M University
Rice University
Sam Houston State University
Southern Methodist University
Stephen F. Austin State University
Tarleton State University
Tarrant County College
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
Texas A&M University - College Station
Texas A&M University - Kingsville
Texas Christian University
Texas State University
Texas Tech University    
Trinity University
University of Dallas
University of Houston
University of North Texas
University of Texas - Austin
University of Texas - Arlington
University of Texas - Dallas
University of Texas - San Antonio
USTA Tennis On Campus Texas Past Champions
2017 - Texas A&M University
2016 - University of Texas - Austin
2015 - Texas A&M University
2014 - Texas A&M University
2013 - University of Texas - Austin
2012 - Texas A&M University
2011 - Texas A&M University 
2010 - University of Texas - Austin 
2009 - Texas A&M University
2008 - Texas A&M University


Image result for texas usta logo