> Home > News > 2007 USTA National Campus Championship Announced

2007 USTA National Campus Championship Announced

Texas A&M, 2006
Texas A&M University
2006 USTA National Campus Championship winners

The USTA, along with our partners at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA), World TeamTennis (WTT), and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), are pleased to announce the eight annual USTA National Campus Championship.  The 2007 event will be held April 26-28 at the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C., and feature 64 colleges from across the country.  The teams will compete against each other for the right to be crowned national champions using the dynamic and exciting World TeamTennis format, which offers coed teams the opportunity to participate in men's and women's doubles, men's and women's singles, and mixed doubles.

As a result of the recent explosion of the Tennis On Campus program, notably through the development of many new club tennis programs, and the increased popularity and prestige of the USTA National Campus Championship, teams can gain entry into the championship field in only two ways.  First, a team can earn an automatic bid by competing in its USTA Campus Championship - Section Event.  Teams can also obtain at-large bids to the tournament on a first-come, first-served basis.

Last year, Texas A&M won a record third straight title, its fourth in five years.  Previous winners include the University of North Carolina (2000, 2001) and the University of Florida (2003).  For more information on this year's championship, please contact Valerie McCutchan at NIRSA: valerie@NIRSA.org or (541) 766-8211.

USTA LogoUSTA Campus Championship PhotoNIRSA NCCS Logo