> Home > News > Sportsmanship Reigns with Arthur Ashe Awards

Sportsmanship Reigns with Arthur Ashe Awards

ITA Awards, 2007
The 2007 Arthur Ashe Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship
Award winners and the 2007 ITA All-Star Team with David
Dinkins, former mayor of New York City and member of the USTA
Board of Directors; ITA Executive Director David Benjamin; and
USTA President Jane Brown Grimes.
This year, for the first time, all 12 national winners of the ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship Award were honored at the US Open.  The awards go to NCAA Divisions I, II, and III, NAIA, and NJCAA men's and women's players who exhibit outstanding sportsmanship and leadership, as well as scholastic, extracurricular, and tennis achievements.

This year's winners are a dynamic group that includes 4.0 students and nationally ranked players.  MIT's Thomas Dohlman created the Smile Train Charity Tennis Tournament, an event to help raise funds and awareness for cleft lip and cleft palate research and treatment.  Laura Stein, from Amherst, has been recognized by the Massachusetts Senate for her work with Tennis for Fun, a community service organization that runs weekly tennis programs for mentally handicapped adults.  William & Mary's Megan Moulton-Levy, the first two-time recipient in the history of the Division I women's award, helped develop a program called "Girls Sports Power," which provides area children with an avenue to get involved in sports, and provides them with a safe place to learn.

Other award recipients are: Danny Bryan (LSU), Lindsey Fischer (Indianapolis), Mislav Hizak (Embry-Riddle), Jennifer Le (Oklahoma Christian), Katy Nethery (San Diego City College), Dustin Phillips (Tyler Jr. College), Daniel Pollock (Hawaii-Hilo), Maya Vankineni (Oxford College of Emory), and Clint Walder (Riverside Community College).

Also announced and recognized was the 2007 ITA All-Star Team.  To read more and view the team roster, click here.