> Home > Events > USTA Tennis On Campus Invitationals > USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational > 2013 USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational Results

2013 USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational Results


2013 Spring Invitational Champs USC
The University of Southern California (USC) claimed the prize at
the 2013 USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational.

Spring Invitational Logo
Event Page on Facebook

USTA TennisLink Tournament Page
Reffkin Tennis Center Logo


2013 USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational

Thirty-two teams from twenty-five schools participated in the 2013 USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational which took place April 12-14 at the Reffkin Tennis Center in Tucson, Ariz. 

The University of Southern California defeated the Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo 27-20.  Both teams have now officially qualified for the 2014 USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship which will take place in Surprise, Ariz.

The University of Arizona defeated the University of California - Irvine 23-20 to secure third place.  Indiana University won the Sportsmanship Award.

2013 USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational
Date: Venue: Contact:
April 12-14, 2013
Reffkin Tennis Center
Tucson, Arizona
Meghan Houk at (520) 791-4896
Final Match Scores

1st Place [Univ. of Southern California (A)] def. 2nd Place [Cal Poly- San Luis Obispo (A)], 27-20
Men's Doubles:
     Colin Tseng & Javeed Kassam vs. Robert Geiger & Matl Giordano, score 6-5
Men's Singles:
     Alden Mitchell vs. Matl Giordano, score 6-4
Women's Doubles:
     Audrey Nguyen & Annalisa Choy vs. Lindsay Marsh & Kristy Peterson, score 3-6
Women's Singles:
     Anna Rudakova vs. Dani Williams , score 6-3
Mixed Doubles:
     Darin Poei & Audrey Nguyen vs. Robert Geiger & Lindsay Marsh, score 6-2

3rd Place [University of Arizona (B)] def. 4th Place [University of California - Irvine] 23-20
Men's Doubles:
     Ian Esquer & Miles Lucero v. Vikram Babu & Ronald Kao, score 6-2
Men's Singles:
     Ian Esquer v. Paxton Samanmitr (sub: Vikram Babu), score 6-0
Women's Doubles:
     Claire Konen & Kat Pfordt v. Suzanne Lin & Ellie Fukunaga, score 6-4
Women's Singles:
     Sydney Sarner v. Caitlyn Ward , score 0-6
Mixed Doubles:
     Claire Konen & Andrew Finley v. Ronald Kao & Suzanne Lin, score 4-6
Overtime Mixed Doubles:
     Claire Konen & Miles Lucero v. Ronald Kao & Suzanne Lin, score 1-2

Spring Invitational Bid Policy

The two (2) unique schools that win a bid from the Spring Invitational will be invited to the USTA TOC National Championship the following academic year. 
These schools will also be required to participate in their respective  TOC Section Championship the following academic year in order to  “activate” their national bid.

If during the following academic year the school also becomes eligible for a bid from their TOC Section Championship, the invitational bid will take priority.

If schools are eligible for stipend money from their TOC Section Championship (based on the order of their finish), the USTA National office will match that stipend amount.

The Section office would pay the allotted stipend money to the Invitational bid winners from their section and be reimbursed by the USTA National office.

If a school finishes first in both the Invitational and their TOC Section Championship, their team photo for each respective event would be in included in the tournament program for the USTA TOC National Championship.

If one or both of the schools fail to meet the standards to “activate” their participation at nationals, then the 3rd place team (and subsequently 4th place team) from the Spring Invitation would be contacted for participation and eligibility.  If these teams failed to meet standards, then the bids would go back to the national championship to be distributed at the tournament director’s discretion. 

All NIRSA NCCS eligibility requirements for players will need to be met.

Schools must have participated in their TOC Section Championship during the current academic year to be eligible for participation and registration in the Spring Invitational event.  (noted exception:  Rocky Mountain Regional – Intermountain).

USTA Tennis On Campus Spring Invitational Past Champions
2013 - University of Southern California
2012 - University of Arizona
2011University of California - San Diego
2010 - University of California - San Diego

Back to USTA Tennis On Campus Fall & Spring Invitationals Home