> Home > News > Sixty-Four Teams, One Ultimate Goal

Sixty-Four Teams, One Ultimate Goal


By Nicholas J. Walz

It's time to "get some love" once again.

The top 64 co-ed intramural and sport club tennis teams have arrived by car, by train and by plane from all over the United States and are now united at the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C. for the 2015 Tennis On Campus National Championships. Friendships will be made and tremendous tennis will be played over the three-day tournament, yet only one team can win.

“We are excited to announce the field for the 2015 Tennis On Campus National Championship – the most exciting recreational college tennis event in the country,” said Glenn Arrington, National Manager, USTA Tennis On Campus. “Tennis On Campus provides college students with a host of opportunities for team camaraderie, social networking, unrivaled competition through tennis and helps them maintain healthy and active lifestyles through their college years."

The USTA Tennis On Campus program features more than 35,000 college students competing nationwide in intramural and intercollegiate coed club play. Since its inception in 2000, Tennis On Campus has grown significantly and today is played on more than 600 college campuses across the country.

This year, four schools will make their debut at Nationals in a field that also includes defending champion University California – Berkeley and Club of the Year Cornell University. Teams participating in the Tennis On Campus National Championship have advanced through USTA section championship play or received automatic bids from winning at the Fall or Spring Invitational.

Participating teams who have received bids for this year’s USTA Tennis On Campus National Championship include the following schools:

Alabama Dayton*  Michigan Stanford
Arizona Emory  Minnesota Tennessee
Arizona State Florida Missouri Texas
Auburn Georgetown North Carolina Texas A&M
Baylor Georgia Northeastern Texas Christian*
Boston College Georgia Tech  Northwestern  UC - Berkeley**
Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo Gonzaga Oklahoma UC - Davis
Carleton Harvard Oregon UC - Irvine
Carnegie Mellon* Illinois Penn State UC - Los Angeles
Central Florida Indiana  Pennsylvania UC - Santa Barbara 
Clemson Iowa Pepperdine  UMass 
Colorado James Madison Pittsburgh  Virginia
Colorado State Kennesaw State Purdue William & Mary
Columbia Lamar*  Rutgers Wisconsin
Cornell Marquette  Sam Houston State Western Washington
Dartmouth Miami  San Diego Yale
* - Denotes first-time participant
 ** - 2014 Tennis On Campus National Champions


Developed by the USTA in partnership with NIRSA, World TeamTennis and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, the Tennis On Campus program gives college students the opportunity to build leadership skills, network in a coed sports environment and compete on a college team without the rigors of playing in a varsity program.  With year-round match play, and regional and national championship competition, students maintain active and healthy lifestyles through their college years.

Follow #TOCNationals on social media throughout the tournament.