Southwest Championship

Event Highlights

Seven schools participated in the 2017 USTA Tennis on Campus Southwest Championship event.

Teams played pool play on Friday, with pool winners Arizona A, Arizona B, New Mexico A, Arizona State A and Northern Arizona A advancing through to the gold bracket.

In the semifinals, Northern Arizona University fell to University of New Mexico A 22-20, while Arizona A defeated Arizona State A 24-18 to set up an Arizona-New Mexico final. Arizona A prevailed 30-14 in the final.

Both finalists will now advance on to the USTA National Championships, April 13-15 at the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Florida.

February 21-23, 2020

Tuscon, AZ

Tuscon Racquet Club

The USTA Campus Championship - Southwest is a fun and competitive event for collegiate club and intramural tennis teams from across the USTA Southwest Section. This, the fifth annual Championship, uses the exciting, dynamic, and co-ed World TeamTennis format, and hosted 12 teams from 6 schools in 2010 and looks forward to promising growth in the years to come. The top two teams are granted an automatic bid to the USTA National Campus Championship and receive a stipend from the USTA Southwest section to attend the National Championship.

CONTACT: Ashley Portwood - Email - (480) 289-2351 X104
MORE INFO: USTA Southwest Section Website

The Field

* Earned bid to 2017 National Championship

Past Southwest Champions